SNP’s new councillor for Mid Argyll celebrates council election results

A delighted Jan Brown shares a joke with Pippa Milne after the result of her ward election

Want to read more?

We value our content, so access to our full site is only available on subscription.

Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.

And there’s more – your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?
Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Jan Brown is celebrating her first appointment to Argyll and Bute Council, but 94-year-old councillor’s long service on Argyll and Bute Council has been brought to an end after he was not elected for another term.

Independent candidate Donnie MacMillan, a councillor since 1995, was not one of three winning candidates elected to the authority’s Mid Argyll ward in the polls on Thursday May 5.

Another independent candidate, Douglas Philand, who has been on the council since 2007, was re-elected, with the SNP’s Jan Brown and the Scottish Conservatives’ Garret Corner also joining the council.

The turnout for the ward was 52 per cent. The result was revealed at Lochgilphead Joint Campus on Friday May 6, with votes having been counted since first thing in the morning.

Councillor Philand said: ‘It is wonderful that all the candidates put themselves forward and we have put our faith in what we have done.

‘Thank you to those who decided that I should represent Mid Argyll, along with Garret Corner and Jan Brown.

‘At this point it is poignant to pay tribute to Donnie for his years of service. You have been an inspiration to a lot of people and long may you keep good health.’

Councillor Brown said: ‘Thank you to everybody who is here. It has been a fantastic journey and I will never forget it, and now we move on to the next bit.

‘It is a privilege to be here and to be involved from the start. I will represent every single person in Mid Argyll the best I can and I will give 100 per cent every day.’

Councillor Corner was not in attendance at the count.

The election took place under the single transferrable vote system. The result, with first preference votes listed for every candidate, was:

Abisola Adepetun (Independent) – 54

David Barton (Scottish Liberal Democrat) – 107

Jan Brown (SNP) – 993

Lesley Burt (Scottish Labour) – 157

Andy Cameron (Independent) – 140

Garret Corner (Scottish Conservative) – 37

Donnie MacMillan (Independent) – 149

Douglas Philand (Independent) – 1148

Ross Weir (Independence for Scotland Party) – 78

no_a19JanBrown02. A delighted Jan Brown shares a joke with Pippa Milne after the result of her ward election