Highlands and Islands regional MSPs declared

Counting was carried out on two days following the election in light of Covid restrictions. Photo: Kevin McGlynn

Want to read more?

We value our content, so access to our full site is only available on subscription.

Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.

And there’s more – your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

After an election like no other, the eight people who will represent the people of Argyll and Bute in the Scottish Parliament for the next five years have been decided.

The count after Thursday’s vote was carried out under strict Covid protocols the following day, Friday May 7, with Jenni Minto announced as the constituency MSP for Argyll and Bute around 6pm, succeeding fellow SNP member Michael Russell as the incumbent.

Shortly after 5pm the day after that, Saturday, the Argyll and Bute regional count was complete and combined with those from the seven other Highlands and Islands constituences – from Shetland to Lochaber – to decide the regional list.

With the results in, Inverness-based regional returning officer for Highland and Islands, Donna Manson, declared the results for the regional list, with the following seven members elected on a 66.1 per cent overall turnout:

Douglas Ross – Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party

Edward Mountain – Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party

Rhoda Grant – Scottish Labour Party

Donald Cameron – Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party

Ariane Claire Burgess – Scottish Green Party

Jamie Halcro Johnston – Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party

Emma Roddick – Scottish National Party

Elections to the Scottish Parliament are carried out using the additional member voting system, combining the traditional first past the post system and proportional representation.

The Argyll and Bute constituency result, on a 67.8 per cent turnout, was:

Donald Cameron, Cons: 7,645
Jenni Minto, SNP: 16,608
Alan Reid, LibDem: 6,874
Lewis White, Lab: 2,436

Votes cast: 33,728

Spoiled/rejected: 165.

More reaction to come in your Argyllshire Advertiser