Sinclair wins rain-hit Lochgilphead championship

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income.

In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic.  The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thanks you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time

We value our content, so access to our full site is only available on subscription.

Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.

And there’s more – your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Saturday June 27 saw a large field take part in the gents championship at Lochgilphead Golf Club.

The scores were close, with Ross Sinclair and Ryan McGlynn in the lead with 69 strokes each and Robbie Wilson two behind on 71.

With 72 strokes, Tom Campbell was still in contention but had secured the senior championship prize the Downhill Trophy. Captain James Scott had a superb round and was leading in the handicap competition with a net 57, beating match secretary Colin Penman by a single stroke.

When Sunday dawned the weather had not been kind, and when the course was inspected it was deemed unplayable, unless you had a boat.

Due to the unprecedented times we find ourselves in it was decided that the previous day’s scores would stand so this years champion is Ross Sinclair, who beat Ryan McGlynn on a countback. Senior champion is Tom Campbell and handicap winner James Scott.

The ladies played for the Rosalind Flanagan Memorial trophy on Saturday, returning excellent scores. Jane Hepburn was victorious with 39 points, beating Ele Hunter by one point.