Inveraray keeps bowling along

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income.

In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic.  The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thanks you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time

We value our content, so access to our full site is only available on subscription.

Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.

And there’s more – your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Jenny Spiers presented the prizes as the silverware was handed out at Inveraray Carpet Bowling Club.

At the end of another successful season, the Ladies Cup was won by Marina Campbell. Scott MacIntyre took the singles championship, while the pairs cup was won by club chairman Duncan Robertson and George Morrison.

Duncan Robertson’s team also won the Skips’ Cup.

After a hard winter of competition, when travelling between venues was often difficult, Inveraray retained the Lochfyneside Carpet Bowling  League trophy which also featured clubs from Dalmally, Portsonachan, Furnace and  Cairndow.

Duncan Robertson said: ‘Thanks to all our members for their efforts over this season and I hope to see everyone in October for the start of next season.’


Chairman Duncan Robertson with Jenny Speirs. 06_a12invbowls06