Argyll shinty among the cream of the crop

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Argyllshire Advertiser – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Tighnabruaich-based Kyles Athletic featured heavily in the 2017 Marine Harvest national shinty awards as the winners were announced on Friday October 20 in Inverness.

The awards were presented by Marine Harvest’s business support manager Steve Bracken.

Shinty’s player of the year was human dynamo Andrew King of Kyles Athletic, while his club manager James Perlich, in his first season in sole control of team affairs, picked up coach of the year.

Another Cowal outfit, Strachur and District Shinty Club, were recognised as young defender Ollie Adrian picked up the south division two player of the year title. Strachur management duo Ali Mirrlees and Ross MacDonald were voted coach of the year in their league.

This year’s Camanachd Cup Final whistler, Lochgilphead’s own Lachie Wood, was awarded referee of the year.

Selected winners

Marine Harvest Centenary Award – Donald Skinner, Glasgow

Marine Harvest Coach of the Year 2017 – James Perlich, Kyles Athletic Marine Harvest Player of the Year 2017 – Andrew King, Kyles Athletic Marine Harvest Club of the Year 2017 – Kinlochshiel

Marine Harvest South Division 1 Coach of the Year 2017 – Gareth Evans, Lochside Rovers.

Marine Harvest South Division 2 Coach of the Year 2017 – Ross MacDonald and Ali Mirrlees, Strachur.

Harvest South Division 1 Player of the Year 2017 – Cameron Sutherland, Lochside Rovers.

Marine Harvest South Division 2 Player of the Year 2017 – Ollie Adrian, Strachur. Marine Harvest North Division 2 Player of the Year 2017 – Nick Dalgetty, Glengarry.

Referees The Johnny ‘Ach’ MacRae Quaich, Referee of the Year 2017 – Lachie Wood, Lochgilphead.

Emerging Referee of the Year 2017 – Des McNulty, Dalmally.


Proud Kyles winners Andrew King, left, and James Perlich. no_a43shintyawardsKyles01

South division 2 player of the year Ollie Adrian, right, keeps a close watch on veteran Inveraray marksman Russell MacKinlay in the 2017 Bullough Cup Final. no_a43shintyawardsOllie01